ASEAN Scholarships at New Zealand

ASEAN Scholarships at New Zealand
Host (Institutions): 
The New Zealand Aid Programme

Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines and Vietnam

The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholars Awards are open to eligible candidates from the public, private and civil society sectors, the New Zealand-ASEAN Scholars Awards seek to empower individuals with the knowledge, skills and qualifications to contribute to economic, social and political development within ASEAN nations.

The New Zealand Aid Programme provides postgraduate scholarships for students from Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines and Vietnam to undertake studies in New Zealand. Indonesia will receive the largest nominal allocation of up to 50 awards per annum.

The New Zealand-ASEAN-Scholars Awards (NZ-AS) are open to all eligible candidates from the public and private sector including, civil society, university lecturers, development-focused organisations and charitable foundations. The New Zealand Aid Programme welcomes applications from Indonesians who demonstrate leadership and academic excellence, with priority given to those from the following fields:

  1. Geographic Areas
  2. Government Ministries
  3. Fields of Study

Candidates from outside the above prioritised areas are welcome to apply. As a general criterion, those candidates who can demonstrate leadership qualities and potential for future leadership will be given preference. This includes applicants who have demonstrated high academic standards, especially in their undergraduate degree. Competitive candidates should be able to demonstrate how their proposed course of study will contribute to Indonesia’s development.

Eligibility Criteria

  • be a citizen of Indonesia and have resided in Indonesia for at least for at least two years at the time of application
  • preferably under 40 years of age at the time of application
  • not have citizenship/permanent residence status for New Zealand or Australia, or be married or engaged to be married to a person who holds New Zealand or Australian citizenship or permanent residence status;
  • not hold or have held a New Zealand Government or Australia Government scholarship in the preceding 24 months at the time of application
  • not be seeking support for a degree programme already commenced;
  • not hold a qualification at a similar level or in a similar field of study at similar level [this means holders of bachelor degrees should apply for Masters or PhD and a Masters graduates should apply for PhD study]
  • have a minimum IELTS (academic) results of 5.5 overall, with no band less than 5.0 ( results to be no older than 24 months at time of application)
  • be available to take up the scholarships in the calendar year for which the scholarship is offered;
  • hold a bachelor degree of strong academic merit that is relevant to the proposed post graduate qualification, (note: NZ Aid Programme gives preference to those candidates who hold a graduate degree from Indonesian institutions rather than from a developed country).
  • must have a minimum two years work experiences and be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to Indonesia’s public sector and/or private sector and/or community sector (as relevant), and to the development of Indonesia in general.
  • satisfy the admission requirements of the New Zealand institution in which the degree programme is to be undertaken (inc, English language criteria).
Study in: 
Auckland University of Technology (AUT), Lincoln University, Massey University, Unitec, University of Auckland, University of Canterbury, University of Otago, Victoria University of Wellington, University of Waikato
11 April 2011

Ira Indirawati